Search site

  • Public Accounts Committee

Public Accounts Committee

The Public Accounts Committee was established in May 2004 to achieve better value for money for the States of Guernsey and to question financial procedures.

It has a wide mandate to ensure proper scrutiny of the financial affairs of the States and that States' bodies operate to the highest standards in financial matters. The Public Accounts Committee also examines whether public funds have been applied for the purposes intended by the States and that extravagance and waste are eradicated.

The full Mandate of the Committee can be downloaded from the right hand side of this page.

Following independent review commissioned by the Committee or others, it will question those accountable through a hearing process in order to produce its findings and recommendations. The Committee will also carry out its own research and follow up reviews.

The Committee is also responsible to recommend the appointment of the States External Auditors and carries out the tender process on behalf of the States of Guernsey and meet with those appointed on a regular basis.

In addition, the Committee will consider the business of the States of Deliberation, raise any matters of concern in respect of finance, governance, internal controls, procedures, project and risk management et al and liaise with other scrutiny bodies.

In order to provide greater independence and objectiveness for the Committee, it has a membership comprising a Chairman and four other States members and four voting non States members, all voted for by the States of Deliberation. It also reports directly to the States of Deliberation through the Presiding Officer.

Please visit the other individual pages in this section to discover in more depth how the Committee operates, its Working Parties, information on attending a Committee Hearing and our previously published Reports and Press Releases.

Political Board

Chairman Vice Chairman

Deputy Heidi J. R. Soulsby

Deputy Peter A. Harwood

Board Members

Deputy Peter A. Sherbourne

Deputy Robert A. Jones

Deputy Roger Domaille

Non States Board Members

Mr John F. Dyke

Mr Patrick A. S. Firth

Mr Paul D. H. Hodgson

Ms Gillian Y. Morris

Chief Officer

Mr Mark A Huntington

Contact Details

Sir Charles Frossard House
PO Box 43
La Charroterie
St Peter Port
Channel Islands
Tel: 44 1481 717133

Opening Hours

9.00am-5.00pm, Monday-Friday

Contacting Your Political Representatives

If you would like to contact a Member of the States on a specific subject their details are held in the States Members Contact Details Section. The link will take you to a full list of the States Members email addresses and, where relevant, their social media account details.

Translate the site

Portuguese Latvian Polish
VisitGuernseyVisit Site >
Guernsey's official tourism portal with places to visit, events and travel info.