

Vote Number 2012/24

Date of Vote: 22nd February 2012

Billet d'État: IV of 2012

Article:

Department/Committee: Public Services Department Subject: Revised Waste Strategy

Proposition: en bloc

1. To approve recycling targets as follows:

• 50% by the end of 2013;

• 60% by the end of 2018; and

• 70% by the end of 2025.

- 2. To approve the Waste Minimisation Plan as set out in Appendix 8 to this report and to direct the Public Services Department to take forward the measures identified therein without delay, with the revenue costs funded by a transfer from the Waste Strategy Fund to the revenue budget of the Department.
- 3. To direct the Treasury and Resources Department to consider and approve appropriate business cases from the Public Services Department to implement prevention, re-use and recycling initiatives (namely kerbside collections; in-vessel composting of food waste and refurbishment of bring bank sites) at the earliest opportunity, with reference to indicative costs detailed in Appendix 15 of this report and for the capital costs of these schemes to be funded by a loan from States Treasury.
- 4. To direct the Public Services Department to report back to the States no later than December 2013 with the results of its investigations into any legislative and policy changes necessary, together with full costings to give maximum effect to waste prevention and minimisation measures.
- 5. To direct the Public Services Department to pursue the option of export of waste, including the possibility of buying into the Jersey plant, and to report back to the Policy Council no later than September 2013 with full costings to lay before the States.
- 6. To rescind Resolutions 6 and 7 concerning Billet d'État IX, 2009.

CARRIED Pour: 41 Contre: 1 Abstained: 0 Not Present: 5

St. Peter Port South		Castel		
Deputy Barry L. Brehaut	P	Deputy Mark H. Dorey	P	
Deputy Carla S. McNulty Bauer	P	Deputy A. Hunter Adam	P	
Deputy Jennifer M. Tasker	P	Deputy Thomas M. Le Pelley	P	
Deputy Roger Domaille	N	Deputy Sean J. McManus	P	
Deputy Allister H. Langlois	P	Deputy Barry J. E. Paint	P	
Deputy Jan Kuttelwascher	P	Deputy Bernard M. Flouquet	P	
		Deputy Michael G. G. Garrett	P	
St. Peter Port North				
Deputy John A. B. Gollop	P	West		
Deputy R. Rhoderick Matthews	N	Deputy Alvord H. Brouard	P	
Deputy Carol A. Steere	P	Deputy David de G. De Lisle	P	
Deputy Martin J. Storey	P	Deputy Marc S. Lainé	P	
Deputy Jack Honeybill	N	Deputy Shane L. Langlois	P	
Deputy Leon R. Gallienne	P	Deputy Peter R. Sirett	P	
Deputy Michael W. Collins	P	Deputy Gloria P. Dudley-Owen	P	
St. Sampson		South-East		
Deputy Peter L. Gillson	P	Deputy Charles N. K. Parkinson	P	
Deputy Samantha J. Maindonald	N	Deputy Francis W. Quin	P	
Deputy Scott J. Ogier	P	Deputy Michael G. O'Hara	P	
Deputy Ivan F. Rihoy	N	Deputy Robert W. Sillars	P	
Deputy Lyndon S. Trott	P	Deputy Janine M. Le Sauvage	P	
Deputy T. Jane Stephens	P	Deputy Michael P. J. Hadley	C	
Vale		Alderney		
Deputy Matthew J. Fallaize	P	Alderney Representative Boyd N.	Kelly	P
Deputy Geoffrey H. Mahy	P		Alderney Representative Paul Arditti	
Deputy Anthony Spruce	P	, 1		
Deputy Mary M. Lowe	P			
Deputy Graham Guille	P			
Deputy David B. Jones	P			
Deputy Andrew R. Le Lièvre	Р			