

## *Vote Number 2012/60*

Date of Vote: 8<sup>th</sup> May 2012

Billet d'État: IX of 2012

Article: 1

**Department/Committee:** Treasury and Resources Department

**Subject:** Election of a Minister

**Proposition:** Pursuant to Rule 13(6)(b) of the

**Rules of Procedure** 

Proposed by: Deputy S. J. Ogier

That the amendment [annexed hereto] be not debated and no vote be taken thereon.

LOST: Pour: 5 Contre: 42 Abstained: 0 Not Present: 0

		I		
St. Peter Port South		Castel		
Deputy Peter A. Harwood	С	Deputy Darren J. Duquemin	C	
Deputy Jan Kuttelwascher	C	Deputy Christopher J. Green		
Deputy Barry L. Brehaut	C	Deputy Mark H. Dorey	C C	
Deputy Roger Domaille	C	Deputy Barry J. E. Paint	C	
Deputy Allister H. Langlois	C	Deputy Jonathan P. Le Tocq	C	
Deputy Robert A. Jones	C	Deputy Sandra A. James MBE	C	
		Deputy A. Hunter Adam	C	
St. Peter Port North				
Deputy Michelle K. Le Clerc	C	West		
Deputy John A. B. Gollop	P	Deputy Roger A. Perrot	C	
Deputy Peter A. Sherbourne	C	Deputy Alvord H. Brouard	C	
Deputy Richard Conder	C	Deputy Arrun M. Wilkie	P	
Deputy Martin J. Storey	C	Deputy David de G. De Lisle	C	
Deputy Elis G. Bebb	C	Deputy Yvonne Burford	P	
Deputy Lester C. Queripel	C	Deputy David A. Inglis	C	
St. Sampson		South-East		
Deputy Gavin A. St. Pier	C	Deputy Heidi J. R. Soulsby	C	
Deputy Kevin A. Stewart	C	Deputy Robert W. Sillars	C	
Deputy Peter L. Gillson	C	Deputy Paul A. Luxon	C	
Deputy Paul R. Le Pelley	C	Deputy Michael G. O'Hara	C	
Deputy Scott J. Ogier	P	Deputy Francis W. Quin	C	
Deputy Lyndon S. Trott	C	Deputy Michael P. J. Hadley	C	
Vale		Alderney		
Deputy Matthew J. Fallaize	C	Alderney Representative Boyd N	erney Representative Boyd N. Kelly	
Deputy David B. Jones	C			C
Deputy Laurie B. Queripel	C			
Deputy Mary M. Lowe	C			
Deputy Andrew R. Le Lièvre	C			
Deputy Anthony Spruce	C			
Deputy Garry M. Collins	C			

#### **STATES OF DELIBERATION**

8<sup>th</sup> May, 2012

### Billet d'État No. IX Article I

#### **AMENDMENT**

Proposed by: Deputy E G Bebb Seconded by: Deputy L S Trott

# Election of Ministers, a Deputy Chief Minister and Chairmen of Committees Treasury and Resources Department - Minister

To insert between "To" and "elect":

"amend with immediate and general effect, Rule 20(2)(a) of the Rules of Procedure of the States of Deliberation by inserting at the end of the words in that sub-paragraph: ", save that in elections for the offices of Deputy Chief Minister, Minister and Chairman the Greffier shall publish a list detailing the vote cast by each Member of the States, as soon as possible after the conclusion of the Meeting of the States convened for the election of Members of Departments and Committees during May 2012 and quadrennially thereafter in accordance with rule 7(1) of the Rules governing the Constitution and Operation of States Departments and Committees; and thereafter to"".

#### **Explanatory Note**

Rule 20(2)(a) provides that where in any election the number of candidates exceeds the number of vacancies voting shall be carried out by secret ballot. The effect of this amendment, which is an adaptation of a proposal made by the States Assembly and Constitution Committee in January 2012, is that Members' votes will be made public after the States have elected both Ministers and Chairmen, and Members of Departments and Committees.