

Vote Number 2008/02

Date of Vote: 25th June 2008

Billet d'État: VIII of 2008

Article: 4

Department/Committee: Policy Council Subject: Energy Policy

Proposition: Sursis

Proposed by: Deputy A. Spruce Seconded by: Deputy R. Domaille

To sursis Propositions 1, 2 and 4, and to direct the Policy Council to

- A. consider the implications of having only one energy source (i.e. electricity), on Guernsey's energy diversity, security of supply and economy;
- B. evaluate the implications and costs for local commerce, industry, the States and domestic users of oil and gas, of having to switch to electricity for their energy requirements;
- C. evaluate the full infrastructure cost implications of replacing winter day energy outputs, presently provided by oil and gas, by electricity as the only energy source;
- D. consider the implications of effectively creating an electricity energy monopoly;
- E. consult with all energy suppliers on the short to medium term implications of the proposed energy policy on the long term viability of their operations

and to incorporate the results of the foregoing into its Report on Energy Policy, and to lay its Report as amended before the States by no later than March 2009.

LOST Pour: 21 Contre: 25 Abstained: 0 Not Present: 1

St. Peter Port South		Castel		
Deputy Barry L. Brehaut	P	Deputy Mark H. Dorey	C	
Deputy Carla S. McNulty Bauer	C	Deputy A. Hunter Adam	C	
Deputy Jennifer M. Tasker	P	Deputy Thomas M. Le Pelley	C	
Deputy Roger Domaille	P	Deputy Sean J. McManus	P	
Deputy Allister H. Langlois	P	Deputy Barry J. E. Paint	P	
Deputy Jan Kuttelwascher	P	Deputy Bernard M. Flouquet	C	
		Deputy Michael G. G. Garrett	P	
St. Peter Port North				
Deputy John A. B. Gollop	P	West		
Deputy R. Rhoderick Matthews	C	Deputy Alvord H. Brouard	P	
Deputy Carol A. Steere	C	Deputy David de G. De Lisle	C	
Deputy Martin J. Storey	C	Deputy Marc S. Lainé	P	
Deputy Jack Honeybill	P	Deputy Shane L. Langlois	C	
Deputy Leon R. Gallienne	P	Deputy Peter R. Sirett	C	
Deputy Michael W. Collins	P	Deputy Gloria P. Dudley-Owen	P	
St. Sampson		South-East		
Deputy Peter L. Gillson	C	Deputy Charles N. K. Parkinson	C	
Deputy Samantha J. Maindonald	C	Deputy Francis W. Quin	N	
Deputy Scott J. Ogier	C	Deputy Michael G. O'Hara	C	
Deputy Ivan F. Rihoy	P	Deputy Robert W. Sillars	P	
Deputy Lyndon S. Trott	C	Deputy Janine M. Le Sauvage	P	
Deputy T. Jane Stephens	P	Deputy Michael P. J. Hadley	C	
Vale		Alderney		
Deputy Matthew J. Fallaize	C	Alderney Representative Richard	esentative Richard G. Willmott C	
Deputy Geoffrey H. Mahy	C	Alderney Representative William	Walden	C
Deputy Anthony Spruce	P			
Deputy Mary M. Lowe	P			
Deputy Graham Guille	C			
Deputy David B. Jones	C			
Deputy Andrew R. Le Lièvre	C			