

Date of Vote: 22nd June, 2017

Billet d'État:	XIV of 2017
Article:	9
Proposition No.:	P. 2017/49
Committee:	States' Assembly & Constitution Committee
Subject:	Referendum on Guernsey's Voting System
Proposition:	2 (As amended)

After consideration of the policy letter entitled "Referendum on Guernsey's Voting System"

To agree that the question to be put to the electorate in the referendum shall be along the following lines:

Which of the following options should be used to elect Deputies?

Option A

- 1 island-wide electoral district
- Each voter would have 38 votes at each election
- Each Deputy would serve for 4 years
- An election would be held every 4 years for all Deputies at once

Option B

- 7 electoral districts
- Each voter would have 5 or 6 votes at each election
- Each Deputy would serve for 4 years
- An election would be held every 4 years for all Deputies at once

Option C

- 1 island-wide electoral district (represented by 10 Deputies) plus the 7 existing electoral districts (represented by 28 Deputies, with precise allocation per district to be determined in accordance with respective populations)
- Each voter would have 10 votes at each election in respect of the 1 island-wide electoral district and 3, 4 or 5 votes (or such other number of votes), depending on appropriate allocation of Deputies, in their own electoral district
- Each Deputy would serve for 4 years
- Elections would be held every 4 years for all Deputies but the election for the 10 island-wide Deputies would take place first and then the election for the 28 district Deputies would take place on a different day.

Option D

- 4 electoral districts
- Each voter would have between 9 and 11 votes at each election
- Each Deputy would serve for 4 years
- An election would be held every 4 years for all Deputies at once

Option E

- 1 island-wide electoral district
- Each voter would have 12 or 13 votes at each election
- Each Deputy would serve for 6 years
- An election would be held every 2 years for a third of Deputies each time

And



To agree that preferential and transferable voting (known as the Alternative Vote or Instant Run-Off) shall be used to determine which of options A to E was the most favoured.

CARRIED: Pour: 21 Contre: 17 Absent: 2 Ne vote pas: 0 St. Peter Port South Castel Deputy Peter T. R. Ferbrache C Deputy Richard H. Graham P Deputy Jan Kuttelwascher C Deputy Christopher J. Green P Deputy Dawn A. Tindall \mathbf{C} Deputy Barry J. E. Paint \mathbf{C} Deputy Barry L. Brehaut P Deputy Mark H. Dorey P P Deputy Rhian H. Tooley Deputy Jonathan P. Le Tocq P St. Peter Port North West Deputy Alvord H. Brouard Deputy John A. B. Gollop \mathbf{C} Deputy Andrea C. Dudley-Owen P Deputy Charles N. K. Parkinson A Deputy Emilie A. Yerby P Deputy Lester C. Queripel Deputy Michelle K. Le Clerc P Deputy David de G. De Lisle A C Deputy Shane L. Langlois P Deputy Marc P. Leadbeater Deputy Joseph I. Mooney \mathbf{C} South-East St. Sampson Deputy Heidi J. R. Soulsby P C Deputy H. Lindsay de Sausmarez Deputy Lyndon S. Trott P Deputy Paul R. Le Pelley P Deputy Peter J. Roffey P Deputy Jennifer S. Merrett C Deputy Robert G. Prow \mathbf{C} Deputy Gavin A. St Pier \mathbf{C} Deputy Victoria S. Oliver p Deputy T. Jane Stephens C Deputy Carl P. Meerveld C Alderney Alderney Representative Louis E. Jean Vale Alderney Representative S. D. Graham McKinley, OBE P Deputy Matthew J. Fallaize Deputy Neil R Inder Deputy Mary M. Lowe C Deputy Laurie B. Queripel P

Deputy Jeremy C. S. F. Smithies

Deputy Sarah T. Hansmann Rouxel

 \mathbf{C}