

Date of Vote: 20th July, 2018

Billet d'État:	XIX of 2018		
Article:	11		
Proposition No.:	P.2018/47		
Subject:	Requête - Amendment to the Constitution of the		
	States' Trading Supervisory Board		
Proposition type:	All Propositions (as amended)		

- 1. To amend the Mandate of the States' Trading Supervisory Board by substituting the Constitution set out in the Mandate with -
 - "A President and two members who shall be sitting members of the States; and up to two voting members who shall not be sitting members of the States; provided that neither the President nor any member of the Board shall be the President or a member of the Transport Licensing Authority."
- 2. To amend the Rules of Procedure
 - (a) by inserting immediately after the words "propose eligible candidates" in paragraph (a) of Rule 16(4)
 - "; provided that where the proposition is to elect a President of the States' Trading Supervisory Board, he shall first invite the President of the Policy & Resources Committee to propose an eligible candidate, and thereafter other Members to propose eligible candidates", and
 - (b) by deleting Rule 40(4) and replacing it with the following
 - "(4) The members forming the quorum of the States' Trading Supervisory Board shall include at least 2 members who are Members of the States."

2A. To amend the Rules of Procedure –

- (a) By inserting immediately after the words "On a proposition to elect members of a Committee" in Rule 16(6)
 - ', other than members of the States' Trading Supervisory Board who are not

sitting members of the States,' and



(b) By inserting the following sentence immediately after the first sentence of Rule 16(6)

'On a proposition to elect members of the States' Trading Supervisory Board who are not sitting members of the States, the President of the Policy & Resources Committee shall have the exclusive right to propose eligible candidates and the Presiding Officer shall invite the President of the Policy & Resources Committee and no other Member to propose eligible candidates.'

- 3. To agree, in the event that the above Propositions are approved, that
 - (a) until such time as elections have been held to fill the offices created under Proposition 1, the States' Trading Supervisory Board shall continue to function as constituted immediately before the approval of that Proposition,
 - (b) when elections are first held to fill the offices created under Proposition 1-
 - (i) any member of the States' Trading Supervisory Board as constituted immediately before those elections who is a sitting member of the States, may elect to fill one of the vacancies (including that of President) to be filled by a sitting member of the States, in which event the member shall fill the vacancy in question without the need for further election, and
 - (ii) any member of the States' Trading Supervisory Board as constituted immediately before those elections who is not a sitting member of the States and has not resigned from office, shall be deemed to have been appointed to fill one of the vacancies to be filled by a person who is not a sitting member of the States, without the need for further appointment, and
 - (c) the amendments to the Rules of Procedure under Proposition 2
 - (i) shall have no effect until such time as elections are first held to fill the offices created for sitting members of the States under Proposition 1, and
 - (ii) shall apply immediately following any election under paragraph (b)(i) above.



CARRIED: Pour: 35 Contre: 1 Ne vote pas: 0 Absent: 4

St. Peter Port South		Castel	
Deputy Peter T. R. Ferbrache	P	Deputy Richard H. Graham	P
Deputy Jan Kuttelwascher	P	Deputy Christopher J. Green	P
Deputy Dawn A. Tindall	P	Deputy Barry J. E. Paint	P
Deputy Barry L. Brehaut	P	Deputy Mark H. Dorey	P
Deputy Rhian H. Tooley	P	Deputy Jonathan P. Le Tocq	P
St. Peter Port North		West	
Deputy John A. B. Gollop	P	Deputy Alvord H. Brouard	P
Deputy Charles N. K. Parkinson	P	Deputy Andrea C. Dudley-Owen	P
Deputy Lester C. Queripel	P	Deputy Emilie A. Yerby	A
Deputy Michelle K. Le Clerc	P	Deputy David de G. De Lisle	P
Deputy Marc P. Leadbeater	P	Deputy Shane L. Langlois	P
Deputy Joseph I. Mooney	P		
		South-East	
St. Sampson		Deputy Heidi J. R. Soulsby	P
Deputy Lyndon S. Trott	P	Deputy H. Lindsay de Sausmarez	P
Deputy Paul R. Le Pelley	P	Deputy Peter J. Roffey	P
Deputy Jennifer S. Merrett	P	Deputy Robert G. Prow	P
Deputy Gavin A. St Pier	P	Deputy Victoria S. Oliver	A
Deputy T. Jane Stephens	P		
Deputy Carl P. Meerveld	P	Alderney	
		Alderney Representative Stephen Roberts	
Vale		Alderney Representative S. D. Graham McKinley, OBE	
Deputy Matthew J. Fallaize	A	-	
Deputy Neil R Inder	P		
Deputy Mary M. Lowe	C		
Deputy Laurie B. Queripel	P		
Deputy Jeremy C. S. F. Smithies	P		
Deputy Sarah T. Hansmann Rouxel	P		