The official website for the States of Guernsey


St Peter Port & St Sampson
Blue Bag
Clear Bag
Food Waste
Black Bag
Glass Bag

All Other Parishes
Blue Bag
Clear Bag
Food Waste
Black Bag
Glass Bag
More Information
weather iconSunny intervals but cloudier spells with scattered showers, becoming more frequent and squally overnight, with an increasing risk of hail and thunder.
5 day forecastTide timetables
Sign In

Elections & Electoral Roll

Share this page

General Elections are held in Guernsey every four years to appoint Members to the States of Deliberation. The last election was held on 27th April 2016.

  • Electoral Districts

    • For the purposes of an Election, the Island is divided into seven Electoral Districts. The Districts are drawn along the lines of the parish boundaries, but were set to ensure that every person has similar political representation. This means that smaller parishes, such as Torteval, Forest, St. Saviour and St. Pierre du Bois together form the Electoral District of the West whereas St Peter Port is split into two Electoral Districts, St Peter Port North and St Peter Port South.
    • Follow this link to view the districts:
    • If you are on the electoral roll, make sure your details are updated whenever you move house
  • Electoral Roll

    • To vote in elections in Guernsey you need to register to be included on the electoral roll. To be eligible to register to vote, you must be;
      • 15 years of age or older (you won't be able to vote until you're 16),
      • Ordinarily resident in Guernsey, and
      • have been ordinarily resident in Guernsey for the last two years consecutively or for a total of five years at any time.
    • To register email your details to or complete and return the form available for download on this page.
    • There are no nationality restrictions surrounding registration on the Electoral Roll.
    • If you move house or change your name you will need to tell us, otherwise your details will be incorrect. You can tell us by using the States of Guernsey My Details function here:
    • Please note: The Electoral Roll is currently closed. The Roll closed at 23.59 on Thursday 4th October in preparation for the Referendum. The Roll is due to re-open on 8th November 2018.
  • Voting

    • Since the 1st May 2016, 38 Deputies are elected to sit in and represent the populations of Guernsey, Herm and Jethou from seven Electoral Districts . Each District elected five or six Deputies depending on their size. As a voter, you do not need to use all five or six votes if you do not want to.
    • Any person on the Electoral Roll for a particular District may vote at any polling station in that District or may choose to vote by post.
    • Following the 2018 Referendum on Island Wide Voting, voting for the 2020 General Elections may changed. This page will be updated as necessary.
  • Credit Referencing

    • In Guernsey, the details on the Electoral Roll are not supplied to credit reference agencies. To prove that you are one the Electoral Roll, you may request confirmation of your registration from the Electoral Roll Office by completing the form available for download on this page.
  • Results of the election on 27th April 2016



Registration Form / Change of Address to Electoral Roll Credit Reference Application Form

Share this page

Useful Pages

Add To Home

To add this page to the homescreen of your phone, go to the menu button and "Add to homescreen".

The menu button may look like
Three Dots or Box with an Arrow *some browsers' menu buttons may vary.